Off the podium the year before at Laguna Seca, the American hit back in 1989 as he took the win at the Monterey venue, and it was his first of three in a row. Rainey was the rider on pole position and after getting the holeshot into turn one, the number three never looked back – winning by a comfortable 6.8 second margin. Fellow American Kevin Schwantz was second to his main rival, shooting from second on the grid, the Suzuki rider had lonely race while trying to keep tabs on the winner. Eddie Lawson would bring his Honda home in third place, making it an American 1-2-3 at Laguna Seca.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This