There was no stopping Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team, YZF-R6) who pulverised the competition. As a result, Halliday now enjoys a healthy championship lead for the Kawasaki Supersport class in the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli (ASBK). Despite his domination there was plenty of intriguing battles for the remainder of the podium placings. 

Race Two
It was a much more comfortable win for Halliday in race two as he flew across the finish line to a 4.671 second victory over Tom Toprais (Cube Racing, Kawasaki). The Bend Motorsport Park clearly suiting the excellent cornering capabilities of the brand-new Yamaha YZF-R6.

At the start, local rider John Hunt (Suzuki GSX-R600) led into the first corner followed by Max Croker (Mat Mladin Racing, Suzuki GSX-R600), Toparis and Halliday. It wouldn’t take long for Toparis to take the lead followed by Halliday and Hunt.

Halliday was much stronger under braking and Toparis looked like he was throwing everything he had to maintain the lead. The Yamaha rider eventually pulled off the race winning overtake with five laps to go.

Meanwhile, Croker of the Mat Mladin backed squad was flying on his Suzuki. The race being a massive confidence booster for himself and the newly formed team.

Another interesting battle was developing between Hunt, Giuseppe Scarcella (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki ZX-6R) and Zac Johnson (Rebuilder, Yamaha YZF-R6) for fourth. Hunt managed to get the better of the trio in that respective fight.

Taking victory was Halliday followed by his rival Toparis and Croker on the podium as well. Hunt finished in a very impressive fourth followed by Johnson and Scarcella.

Halliday commenting; “That race was a bit different. Tommy led the first stage of the race as I botched my start up. We managed to make a good race of it and I was trying to identify where he was slow. The guys at Yamaha have this bike absolutely dialed in at the moment.”

Kawasaki Supersport Race Two Provisional Results
1. Cru HALLIDAY (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R6)
2. Tom TOPARIS (Cube Racing, Kawasaki ZX-6R)
3. Max CROKER (Mat Mladin Racing, Suzuki GSX-R600)
4. John HUNT (Suzuki GSX-R600)
5. Zac JOHNSON (Rebuilder, Yamaha YZF-R6)
6. Giuseppe SCARCELLA (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki ZX-6R)
7. Ty LYNCH (Adelaide M-cycle Recovery, Yamaha YZF-R6)
8. Rhys BELLING (LXI Racing, Yamaha YZF-R6)
9. Dallas SKEER (Ron Angel Classic Racing, Barry Francis Suzuki GSX-R600)
10. Thomas BRYDEN (YRD Yamaha, Yamaha YZF-R6)

Race Three
Race three was once again won by Halliday, however the battle for the podium positions were very exciting. Taking the lead into the first corner was Croker ahead of Hunt, Toparis and Halliday.

Within no time Toparis and Halliday clawed their way through the field and it looked as if the race would be a repeat of the previous two. Halliday had upped his game however and built a massive gap to his rival. The race then turned in to who could get second, with Johnson and Croker challenging Toparis for second.

Taking the victory was Halliday, 3.306 ahead of Toparis with Johnson joining them on the podium. Croker would just miss out on a second consecutive podium in fourth. Scarcella finished in fifth.

Round winner Halliday sharing; “It’s a great result here at The Bend and I’m really looking forward to the next round at Darwin. Tommy has been riding unreal, you have to remember there is still a big age difference between us. I have to build as much as a gap to him as possible as I know he’s just going to grow as a rider throughout the season. Hats off to the team and my sponsors, the bike is flawless. Let’s keep it up for Darwin!

As a result of his three wins, Halliday now leads the championship with 187 points. Toparis drops to second with 175 points and Damon Rees (Tony Rees M-cycles, Honda CBR600RR) elevates himself to the top three with 109 points.

Kawasaki Supersport Race Three Provisional Results
1. Cru HALLIDAY (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R6)
2. Tom TOPARIS (Cube Racing, Kawasaki ZX-6R)
3. Zac JOHNSON (Yamaha YZF-R6)
4. Max CROKER (Mat Mladin Racing, Suzuki GSX-R600)
5. Giuseppe SCARCELLA (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki ZX-6R)
6. John HUNT (Suzuki GSX-R600)
7. Damon REES (Tony Rees M-cycles, Honda CBR600RR)
8. Ty LYNCH (Adelaide M-cycle Recovery, Yamaha YZF-R6)
9. Luke MITCHELL (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R6)
10. Dallas SKEER (Ron Angel Classic RacingSuzuki GSX-R600)

The Kawasaki Supersport class will head back out on track when ASBK returns to the ‘Top End’ for Round 4, 28th June – 1st July.

2018 ASBK Calendar
Round 4- Hidden Valley Raceway, Darwin NT                                      June 28 – 1 July
Round 5- Morgan Park Raceway, Warwick QLD                                   August 17 – 19
Round 6- Winton Motor Raceway, Benalla, VIC                                   September 7 – 9
Round 7- Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC                                  October 12 – 14

Follow Us:
To stay up to date with everything ASBK, head to, like ASBK on Facebook, or follow on Instagram via ‘ASBK’.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This