The wins have been shared in the Australian Supersport 300 class here at The Bend Motorsport Park for Round 3 of the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli (ASBK). Hunter Ford (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R3) took out race one, but Tom Bramich (YRT, Yamaha YZF-R3) grabbed race two to leave the class wide open with one race to go tomorrow. 

Race One
Ford has taken out race one of the Australian Supersport 300 at The Bend Motorsport Park to record the first ever ASBK race win at the new circuit. Ford was involved in the front pack from start to finish. Ford made his move on lap 6 and held on to cross the line with a time of 15:31.350.

“It was great racing out there with all the boys, but I couldn’t do it without my sponsors Yamaha and South Sydney Commercial. We are looking forward to race two this afternoon,” finished Ford.

Bramich started the race from pole after qualifying fastest and led the race for a number of laps but got pipped on the final lap by Ford. Zac Levy (Puma RV’s, Yamaha YZF-R3) continues to improve on the new circuit and made a calculated pass on Oliver Simpson (Simpson Crash, Yamaha YZF-R3) to claim the last spot on the podium.

A group of nine riders were involved in the lead group, with passes happening in almost every corner, providing an amazing spectacle for fans at The Bend Motorsport Park.

Locky Taylor (Simpson Crash, Yamaha YZF-R3) was at the back of the lead pack for most of race one before a fast finish saw him sneak into fifth, Harry Khouri (Acid Racing Australia, Yamaha YZF-R3) took sixth, Ben Bramich (GowMoto, KTM RC 390) seventh, Tayla Relph (Earmold Australia, Yamaha YZF-R3) eighth and Seth Crump (Rock Oil, KTM RC 390) took ninth.

Crump led the race early on and had great pace before a few mistakes cost him dearly and he drifted down the pack.

Championship leader coming into this round Oli Bayliss (Cube Racing, Kawasaki Ninja), will be looking to bounce back in race two after a mechanical issue made him withdraw just after the start.

Australian Supersport 300 Race One Provisional Results 
1. Hunter FORD (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R3)
2. Tom BRAMICH (YRT, Yamaha YZF-R3)
3. Zac LEVY (Puma RV’s, Yamaha YZF-R3)
4. Oliver SIMPSON (Simpson Crash, Yamaha YZF-R3)
5. Locky TAYLOR (LTR, Yamaha YZF-R3)
6. Harry KHOURI (Acid Racing Australia, Yamaha YZF-R3)
7. Ben BRAMICH (GowMoto, KTM RC 390)
8. Tayla RELPH (Earmold Australia, Yamaha YZF-R3)
9. Seth CRUMP (Rock Oil, KTM RC 390)
10. Travis HALL (Barry’s Dyno, Yamaha YZF-R3)

Race Two 
Bramich has got the better of his team mate and race one winner Ford to take out the second Australian Supersport 300 race here at The Bend Motorsport Park, the pair battled it out from the start line all the way to the chequered flag.

Bramich on lap four pulled off one of the best saves you will see, his legs were off the pegs and he looked sure to put the bike down, but he fought through and kept the bike on two wheels and took the win.

Bramich was thrilled to get the win after finishing second in race one; “I am really happy to get that win, we have been working really hard since the test here and putting in the time during the week. The battle between me and Hunter can be like a lottery, I was just lucky to get the better of this one.”

In what was a carbon copy of race one, the lead pack involved nine riders and proved fascinating, with passes on every turn and slip streaming becoming pivotal down the start finish straight.

Khouri got the better of the battle for third place as he edged out Simpson, Ben Bramich (GowMoto, KTM RC 390), Relph, Crump, Levy and Taylor.

The gap from Khouri in third to Taylor in ninth was just over one second, providing a nail biting battle for that last sport on the podium.

If today’s racing is anything to go by you don’t want to miss the final race of what has been a captivating round three for the Australian Supersport 300 class.

Race three kicks off tomorrow at 11:35 am and will it be Ford or Bramich to take the win or will we see a third winner?

Australian Supersport 300 Race Two Provisional Results 
1. Tom BRAMICH (YRT, Yamaha YZF-R3)
2. Hunter FORD (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R3)
3. Harry KHOURI (Acid Racing Australia, Yamaha YZF-R3)
4. Oliver SIMPSON (Simpson Crash, Yamaha YZF-R3)
5. Ben BRAMICH (GowMoto, KTM RC 390)
6. Tayla RELPH (Earmold Australia, Yamaha YZF-R3)
7. Seth CRUMP (Rock Oil, KTM RC 390)
8. Zac LEVY (Puma RV’s, Yamaha YZF-R3)
9. Locky TAYLOR (LTR, Yamaha YZF-R3)
10. Ben BAKER (BCPeformance, Kawasaki Ninja)

SBS Australia LIVE from 1130 – 1330 Local Time on Sunday 22nd April.
FOX Sports Australia LIVE from 1130 – 1330 Local Time on Sunday 22nd April. Saturday and Sunday all day live stream

Make sure to attend Round 3 of ASBK at The Bend Motorsport Park tomorrow by purchasing tickets at

ASBK Digital Program

ASBK is pleased to announce the arrival of the digitalised Official ASBK Round 3 Program.

The program can be found on the website ASBK.COM.AU.

2018 ASBK Calendar
Round 3- The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend, SA                        April 19 – 22
Round 4- Hidden Valley Raceway, Darwin NT                                      June 28 – 1 July
Round 5- Morgan Park Raceway, Warwick QLD                                   August 17 – 19
Round 6- Winton Motor Raceway, Benalla, VIC                                   September 7 – 9
Round 7- Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC                                  October 12 – 14

Follow Us:
To stay up to date with everything ASBK, head to, like ASBK on Facebook, or follow on Instagram via ‘ASBK’.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This