Fans will have to wait till tomorrow to find out who will get P1 at The Bend Motorsport Park, however Wayne Maxwell (Yamaha Racing Team, YZF-R1) has landed the first blow to take provisional pole position. The live action will continue tomorrow as fan’s will be able to witness all the thrilling action on Saturday through live stream of the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli (ASBK).

YMI Superbike
The ‘Wayne Train’ Maxwell has made the first qualifying session short and sweet, recording the fastest lap after just completing three circulations of The Bend in Q1. Maxwell bided his time and made a run late in the session to record a 1:52.374, on his second lap.

The Yamaha rider shaing; “We can’t count our chickens too early here at Yamaha Racing Team. It was a personal best lap and the Yamaha YZF-R1M is getting better and better with each outing. We will make some small adjustments tonight and then try improve, because 99 percent of the time, Q2 is quicker than Q1.”

Championship leader Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing, Honda CBR1000SP) stopped the clock at 1:52.629 to be just .255s off the pace of his good mate and championship contender Maxwell.

Yesterdays quickest rider on the track, Troy Bayliss (Desmosport Ducati, Ducati Panigale FE) put in another solid session that will be sure to have the ASBK world talking, with a 1:52.686.

Reigning ASBK champion Josh Waters (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, GSX-R1000R) sits in fourth position after the first qualifying session, sitting just .852s adrift of Maxwell after a lap of 1:53.226, whilst South Australian Daniel Falzon (Yamaha Racing Team, YZF-R1M) rounds out the top five with a 1:53.376.

Is Maxwell’s time of 1:52.374 going to be quick enough to earn him pole position at The Bend Motorsport Park? We will find out when qualifying two kicks off at 9:40am local time and don’t forget race one at 12:35pm. Its all going to be live tomorrow!

YMI Superbike Friday Qualifying 1 Provisional Results
1. Wayne MAXWELL (Yamaha Racing Team, YZF-R1M) 1:52.374
2. Troy HERFOSS (Penrite Honda Racing, Honda CBR1000SP) 1:52.629
3. Troy BAYLISS (Desmosport Ducati, Ducati Panigale FE) 1:52.686
4. Josh WATERS (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, GSX-R1000R) 1:53.226
5. Daniel FALZON (Yamaha Racing Team, YZF-R1M) 1:53.376
6. Bryan STARING (Kawasaki BCperformance, ZX-10R) 1:54.390
7. Alex PHILLIS (Phillis Racing Suzuki, GSX-R1000R) 1:54.419
8. Glenn ALLERTON (NextGen Motorsports, BMW S1000RR) 1:54.421
9. Athur SISSIS (SA Demolition Suzuki, GSX-R1000R) 1:54.538
10. Mitch REES (Tony Rees Motorcycles, Honda CBR) 1:54.807

Kawasaki Supersport
Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team, YZF-R6) has been an absolute weapon around The Bend and has taken provisional pole for his class. The brand new YZF-R6 is looking dialled in to the racetrack and it will be tough ask for anyone to stop him from taking pole tomorrow. Halliday even called it a day with 10 minutes to go in the session. His best lap time was a 1:56.157.

Halliday saying; “I’m actually a little disappointed in the time because I think I went out with the wrong visor! It was a bit dark and I missed several apex’s. Hopefully with great weather tomorrow we can head into the 55’s. Hopefully we have more pace in the bag for tomorrow and everyone is likely to go quicker.”

Anything can happen on race weekend however and perhaps second fastest Tom Toparis (Cube Racing Team, ZX-6R) can offer up a challenge. Tommy set a very respectable 1:56.810 in the dying stages to remain in touching distance of Halliday.

Establishing himself in the top three was Broc Pearson was also impressive in the late minutes. He will once again be a likely podium contender whilst doubling as a wildcard in the ARRC.

Completing the top five was the impressive John Hunt Suzuki GSX-R600) and Kiwi rider Damon Rees (Tony Rees M-cycles Honda CBR600RR).

The Kawasaki Supersport qualifying two will take place at 9:00am and race one at 11:55am.

Kawasaki Supersport Friday Qualifying 1 Provisional Results
1 Cru HALLIDAY (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:56.157
2 Tom TOPARIS (Cube Racing, Kawasaki ZX-6R) 1:56.810
3 Broc PEARSON (1800 Approved Cairns, Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:57.385
4 John HUNT (Suzuki GSX-R600) 1:58.142
5 Damon REES (Tony Rees M-cycles Honda CBR600RR) 1:58.514
6 Giuseppe SCARCELLA (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki ZX-6R) 1:58.691
7 Max CROKER (Mat Mladin Racing, Suzuki GSX-R600) 1:58.789
8 Zac JOHNSON (Rebuilder, Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:59.018
9 Luke MITCHELL (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:59.039
10 Rhys BELLING (LXI Racing, Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:59.274

Australian Supersport 300
Tom Bramich (YRT, Yamaha YZF-R3) has swooped in to take provisional pole after clocking the fastest time in qualifying one, on lap seven of eight at The Bend Motorsport Park.

Zac Levy (Puma RV’s, Yamaha YZF-R3) made a desperate play on the final lap of the session to fall just short of Bramich by .026s, with yesterday’s fastest Hunter Ford (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R3) settling for third, just 0.140s behind the leader.

Locky Taylor (LTR, Yamaha YZF-R3) has put behind him the disappointment of not continuing in the Asia Road Racing Champion Underbone 150 class to clock the fourth fastest time. Oliver Simpson (SA, Yamaha YZF-R3) rounds out the top five in his first meeting back in ASBK.

Continuing on from the Wakefield Park thriller, this class is as close as ever with the top eight being separated by only .673s. Tomorrow’s final qualifying session is sure to be a thriller that could see a number of different riders start from pole.

The times are close in the Australian Supersport 300 class, but the question is will Bramich’s time of 2:11.445 be enough to hold onto pole position? We will find out tomorrow at 8:30am local time as the pack take on Qualifying session 2.

Racing also kicks off tomorrow in what is a busy day for the Australian Supersport 300 class, with race one at 11:25am and then race two at 4:45pm.

Australian Supersport 300 Friday Qualifying 1 Provisional Results
1. Tom BRAMICH (YRT, Yamaha YZF-R3) 2:11.445
2. Zac LEVY (Puma RV’s, Yamaha YZF-R3) 2:11.471
3. Hunter FORD (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R3) 2:11.585
4. Locky TAYLOR (LTR, Yamaha YZF-R3) 2:11.625
5. Oliver SIMPSON (SA, Yamaha YZF-R3) 2:11.685
6. Seth CRUMP (Rock Oil, KTM RC 390) 2:11.767
7. Oli BAYLISS (Cube Racing, Kawasaki Ninja) 2:11.807
8. Tayla RELPH (Earmold Australia, Yamaha YZF-R3) 2:12.118
9. Ben BRAMICH (GowMoto, KTM RC390) 2:12.570
10. Ben BAKER (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki Ninja) 2:13.110

Make sure to attend Round 3 of ASBK at The Bend Motorsport Park tomorrow by purchasing tickets at

Tomorrow will kick off qualifying preceding’s and will provide a proper benchmark for who will be on the pace come race weekend!

SBS Australia LIVE from 1130 – 1330 Local Time on Sunday 22nd April.
FOX Sports Australia LIVE from 1130 – 1330 Local Time on Sunday 22nd April. Saturday and Sunday all day live stream

ASBK Digital Program

ASBK is pleased to announce the arrival of the digitalised Official ASBK Round 3 Program.

The program can be found on the website ASBK.COM.AU.

2018 ASBK Calendar
Round 3- The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend, SA                        April 19 – 22
Round 4- Hidden Valley Raceway, Darwin NT                                      June 28 – 1 July
Round 5- Morgan Park Raceway, Warwick QLD                                   August 17 – 19
Round 6- Winton Motor Raceway, Benalla, VIC                                   September 7 – 9
Round 7- Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC                                  October 12 – 14

Follow Us:
To stay up to date with everything ASBK, head to, like ASBK on Facebook, or follow on Instagram via ‘ASBK’.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This